An open letter to Steve Jobs

Dear Steve Jobs,
You do not know me but I feel that you do. I am part of the generation that you have understood; you came to know what I want and what I need, even before knowing their existence. I feel that you have studied and analyzed me so well for you certainly have understood and have taken care of my hidden desires.
You have seen me grown. You narrated to me the friendship between a cowboy and a space ranger back when I needed to dream. Heck, you were even there to inspire me on my best birthday as a boy. I wanted to be a cowboy like Woody on my 7th birthday and  got I it. You have taught me to value my toys and you have taught me that I could not outgrow Disney even though I know it’s evil.
You were there on my first heartbreak. You were in my room to comfort me that one Friday afternoon in my Junior High School year. My iTunes were so loud playing Just So You Know on repeat, I couldn’t even hear my own voice. You lulled me to sleep and I felt calm.
You were even there to jog with me when I felt awkward about my body. With my iPod Shuffle, you let me know (or you let me think) I got game. You were there with me and my mom as I teach her to upload photos on Facebook using her MacBook Air. You were there last New Year’s eve when my cousins and I played Justin Bieber songs to annoy our parents. You were there for every car rides, commutes, lunch breaks, awkward silences, and every random situations that you can think of.
You simply were just always there.
You don’t know me but you have influenced my life so much. I am part of the generation that you studied, experimented with, and understood. You have babied us so much that I could not think of how I could have lived my life any other way. Although I know we’ll manage to move on and find people with minds as brilliant as yours, you will always be unique and you will always be remembered.
Rest in peace. Or keep inventing stuff if they let you in there.
Yours,
#
About The Hashtagger

Currently has 10 hash tags on his wall
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to An open letter to Steve Jobs

  1. ellissy says:

    I am not a fan of Apple, have never even bought an iPod of my own but I can not imagine what life would have been without a Steve Jobs. 😦 Inspiring is an understatement. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D1R-jKKp3NA&feature=share

    • Couldn’t agree more with you on that, Ellis. Such an irrational feeling that I feel sad he’s dead. The thing is, he has become a part of people’s experience and I guess that should count for something.

      I loved that speech of him. I remembered watching that years ago, and then last year when we watched that as a class for OrCom 143. 🙂

  2. commrehab says:

    You are an amazing writer, Hashtagger. Steve Jobs was our Asshole (in The Asshole Rule) but really we loved him.

  3. jaypeesan says:

    For all everything that he did wrong, he made other people do something right. I still think he’s the biggest asshole that’s praised for being an asshole.

    But he’s the asshole who made a difference.

Leave a Reply

